Zonta District 28 Awards

Education, Leadership and Youth Development

Amelia Earhart Fellowship


Amelia Earhart Fellowships were established in 1938 in honor of Amelia Earhart, famed pilot and Zontian. At that time few women were active in aeronautics, science or engineering.

Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta has awarded 1,543 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than US$9.7 million, to 1,114 women representing 72 countries. Our Fellows have gone on to become astronauts, aerospace engineers, astronomers, professors, geologists, business owners, heads of companies, even Secretary of the US Air Force.


Jane M Klausman Women in Business Scholarship

Jane M. Klausman Women in Business Scholarships are helping women pursuing undergraduate degrees in business management to become business leaders.

It was established in 1998 from a generous bequest by Jane M. Klausman, a member of the Zonta Club of Syracuse, New York, USA, and the 1990-1995 Zonta International Parliamentarian. Since the program's inception, Zonta has awarded 527 Scholarships, totaling more than US$1.2 million, to 397 women representing 56 countries.

The winners in 2019 are:

1. Prize: Carina Keller, ZC Mainz (winner of the District 28)

2. Prize: Viktoria Maranz, ZC Burg-Staufenberg Gießen

3. Prize: Lina Scholz, ZC Seligenstadt


Young Women in Public Affairs Award

Young Women in Public Affairs Program encourage young women to pursue careers in government, public policy and community organizations. The award recognizes pre- university and pre-college women students committed to leadership in pulic policy and volunteer organizations.

Established in 1990 by Past International President Leneen Forde, Zonta has since given 846 awards (including international awards), totaling US$836,750, to 724 young women representing 56 countries.

The winners in 2019 are: 


1. Prize: Sonja Marschall (ZC Bad Soden-Kronberg) (winner of the District 28)

2. Prize: Yiyi Ly (ZC Zürich)

3. Prize: Julia Faber (ZC Frankfurt 

Sonja Marschall, winner of the District 28, presents her book

Women in Technology 

To celebrate our centennial Anniversary, in 2019 a new award has been launched top recognize Women pursuing a degree in IT who demonstrate outstanding potential.

The winners in 2019 are: 

1. Prize: Di Tommaso, Giorgia International Winner (Zonta e-club of Italy) 

2. ex-aequo prize : Di Tomaso, Giulia (ZC Roma Capitolium)

2. ex-aequo prize : Pliushch, Juliia (ZC Frankfurt II)

AE fellows in Basel at the District Conference 2019